Writing Metaphors

I’ve been experimenting with my English 1 summer class. Since we meet for three hours a day, four days a week, I’ve decided to take them on field trips and have them write about place for their essays. I’m giving them assignments on some of the topics I’d like to write about myself.

Class 1. Metaphor. What metaphor best describes you, I asked. The answers were unique and varied. They gave me a glimpse into the lives of my students at Lassen.

“I am a flower. Not because I need water and the warmth of the sun to keep me going. Not because I wonder if I will soon be picked before I have had the chance to fully blossom. Not even the way that I always try to stay happy and smiling and keep my petals facing the sun. It’s because of the roots that keep me grounded and, and the way that I could not grow into the flower I am without the right habitat–away from predators, bad seeds and poison, and with plenty of room to grow from the dirt.”

–Marina Blevins

“I call myself a strong warrior. Life has not been easy for me. My family and I migrated from Mexicali, Mexico when I was two years old. My family came to the United States because my older sister was in a very bad accident and paralyzed from the waist down. The doctors in Mexico could not help my sister. To save her life, my parents left everything they had in Mexico. As a parent, I would have done the same thing. My family struggled so much.”

–Nancy Lomeli

“If I were to use a metaphor to describe my life, I would have to describe it as a circus….I wouldn’t be my goofy self if there were only dull pencils around me. Instead I was given paintbrushes and sharpies. I have had a lot of fun and exciting moments with my friends, from intense sword fights while getting chased by rainbow-colored flaming bubble blowing baboons to knitting.”

–Tim Allen

Leave a Reply

