Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

These photos were taken at the ruins of Nalanda University in Bihar, India. Nalanda was an ancient center of Buddhist learning from about fifth century CE to 1197 CE. Nalanda was ransacked by the Turkic Muslim invaders in 1193. The monasteries were destroyed and the monks driven out. The library was so vast that records say it burned for three months after the invaders set fire to it.

The little girl pictured here was part of the group I was traveling with. Her name is Cherida and the woman in the first picture is her grandmother. When I showed the photos to her parents, they said, “But you can’t even tell who she is.”

The crows were just with us for the day.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

    • Yes–I spent six months in India last year, and was really glad I got to do this pilgrimage, although it was little quicker than I would have liked. I’m sure you’re right about the crows!

  1. I love the photos, particularly the crows! Hearing about the burning of the library broke my heart, even though it was so long ago. To think of all those records destroyed . . . .

    • Thank you, Angelia. It’s interesting, isn’t it, how photos turn out. You never really know until afterwards if it’s done what you want. I loved your Mall America photos, by the way!

Leave a Reply

