Reflections

I’ve been doing an experiment with mirrors lately, so the weekly photo challenge: reflections really resonated with me. I haven’t been doing an experiment with mirrors as much as without them. For the past month or so, I’ve been trying to avoid my own reflection if at all possible. Not for any reason other than I wonder how much of who we are is identified by who we think we are? Or the way we think others see us? I’ve also been watching the way other people react to their reflections. Some can’t help glancing at themselves every time they pass a mirror, while others hurry by with their heads down.

We all know Narcissus fell so in love with his own reflection, with the illusion of himself, that he drowned.

I got three photos of this red-breasted nuthatch before she flew away and in each one, the reflection was clearer than the image of the bird itself.  I’m calling this ‘Nuthatch Narcissus.’

IMG_0028

20 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Nizy's Life Compendium

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections « Marcia Clarke–La Chica Writes

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections « The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections « The Kindness Kronicles

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Life of 24 Hours

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Alastair's Blog

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections « My Tropical Home

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections (3) « What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge:Reflection « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  10. Pingback: Mirror Image. « Long versions.

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | small house/BIG GARDEN

  12. How beautiful you are. I love these reflections of yours.

    I easily pass shop windows nowadays without a look, conscious that I can have a look at my image in flow. Yet, years ago when I was so SO self-conscious, felt SO ugly (yet old photos show me as fine) and SO fat, bulimic though I was (though old photos show me as slender) – in those, I always looked at myself, and hated myself. Mirrors or reflections were a constant reminder of my self-loth.

    Ah, vanity.

    I’m now very conscious that reflections are just such, such an illusion that I pass by them without a second thought.

    Gorgeous observation of the bird, lovely photos, and thoughtful reflections.

    🙂 And Merry Christmas!

    • Merry Christmas to you too! I can so relate to your feelings. I remember always feeling ugly and fat and yet when I look at photos from that time I was neither. One of the good things that’s come with getting older is I no longer care as much. I’m more comfortable in my skin.

      • I’m more comfortable too! And I’m actually fatter than ever!! Not rotund, exactly, but chubbier than ever in my life. Yet, feeling fine…

      • I’m more comfortable too! And I’m actually fatter than ever!! Not rotund, exactly, but chubbier than ever in my life. Yet, feeling fine…

Leave a Reply

