Weekly photo challenge: 2012

The Weekly Photo Challenge this week is to choose 12 photos to describe the past year. As 2013 looms on the horizon, I can’t say I’m sorry to see 2012 fade away. It’s been a challenging year, yet a beautiful one as well. I’ve learned lessons I didn’t realize I needed to learn and taken steps I never thought I would or could. I’ve felt the sting of betrayal and the warmth of acceptance. I’ve learned to choose my friends more wisely and to be more discriminative about trust. I no longer seek out a secure life, as security is an illusion and the ground can drop out from under our feet in a second. I’ve learned if you step into a viper’s pit, don’t be surprised when the snakes bite. I’ve grown as a writer and in photography, as my career path has taken off in a direction I wasn’t expecting. I’ve learned the value of friendship and have come to deeply appreciate the friends who are there through good and bad and who have been in my life for many years. And, although cautious, I accept new love and friendship that’s coming my way.

Words of wisdom for 2012: One day I was talking about my love of travel and being at home in the world. My friend put his hand on my heart and said,  “This is where the world is.”

And, so, here is my 2012 in pictures.

Goodbye to India

Goodbye to India

India. The country with the largest heart in the world will always be a land I love.

Loki, a New Delhi street dog, joins the family in California

Loki, a New Delhi street dog, joins the family in California

If I’ve ever had a dharma lesson, Loki is it. Stubborn with an uncontrollable bladder, this dog has, nevertheless, found a place in my heart.

Taking the precepts

Taking the precepts

In March, I took the Buddhist precepts at Shasta Abbey, formally declaring a commitment, and desire, to follow a Buddhist path.

Frozen spring

Frozen spring

It’s still cold and I’ve never felt so alone or alienated in my life as I did last winter and spring.

A new path, new career

A new path, new career

Writing and photographing for a living is a satisfying job, and I love the new challenges it presents.

Ravens on a bare tree

Ravens on a bare tree

As summer approaches, it’s the small moments of beauty that mean the most.

Skies and clouds

Skies and clouds

The summer is one of stunning dawns and dusk and clouds that turn the sky into a painting.

August, my birthday month

August, my birthday month

In August I turned 55, an age that once seemed impossibly old, but now doesn’t seem so bad at all. The poet W.B. Yeats wrote, “Men get better with age.” I think it applies to women as well.

Fire on Cheney Creek

Fire on Cheney Creek

Fire threatens my home, resulting in evacuation, a run in with a local sheriff’s deputy, my dog peeing in the sheriff’s cruiser and a front page article telling the whole story.

Rev. Ando from Shasta Abbey

Rev. Ando from Shasta Abbey

Accepting guidance and friendship is a learned art; it doesn’t always come naturally, but it’s well worth the effort.

Zeke and Alia

Zeke and Alia

November is a month of Thanksgiving and it’s family and friends that make one truly rich. This is my youngest son, Zeke, and his sister, my step-daughter, Alia.

Land of ice

Land of ice

December and the snows came. Few things look colder than the high desert under a blanket of fog and snow.

The promise of 2013

The promise of 2013

The rain never lasts forever.

Other 2012 in review blogs to check out:

Portajohn

The Quotidian Hudson

Bodhisattva in Training

Pancake Ashes

Jon Oliver Balili

Milka Pejovic

The Claricat

Wiley’s Wisdom

8 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: 2012

  1. The most “real” and well done of the posts I’ve seen on WPC 2012 – I can resonate with so much here – maybe that’s why, but I think any honest appraisal would conclude that your voice is true. thank you & may 2013 bring more growth & beauty.

  2. I really appreciated this year-in-review, Jordan. You remind me that life is about learning, always, and that we can find grace unexpectedly in the process.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures – IV | My.Vivid.Visions

Leave a Reply

