Weekly photo challenge: home

The week is nearly over, and I’ve been ruminating on this week’s photo challenge: home.  What does it mean? So many times I’ve found myself in a strange city or new country asking myself, could this be it? Will this be the place I finally call home?

Desi dogs at home in New Delhi

Desi dogs at home in New Delhi

I am at home now in this small city in northern California, but my home has been modified drastically in the past year to accommodate my dog, Loki. A little over a year ago, Loki was a New Delhi street puppy, a desi dog, one of the thousands of stray dogs who roam throughout India.

Desi dogs interact easily with humans belong only to themselves

Desi dogs interact easily with humans belong only to themselves

To date he has destroyed my furniture, chewed at least one of every pair of shoes I own, has dragged everything that can possibly be moved, including a blender, into the back yard where it lay buried under snow for months and is only now melting.

Loki today

Loki today

And to top it off, he has bladder issues. I’ve spent hundreds of dollars on vets and medicines. Weeks and months trying to housebreak him through every method on the internet. At the advice of a psychic friend I changed his name from Yogi to Loki. It’s more appropriate anyway. He dribbles. But I have something to be grateful for: wood floors.

The latest Loki modification: the jail

The latest Loki modification: the jail

The latest is, I’m turning my dining room into a huge cage with a doggie door leading outside. I won’t get rid of him. Who would take him?

Perhaps this is more of a post than a photo challenge. For me, it’s another chapter in the Loki chronicles.

Radar and Loki

Radar and Loki

2 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: home

  1. This has been a very interesting post. I have blog friends who do these challenges, and I was disappointed by most of the posts on this subject. In yours, I got a taste of your home, and something very real that is going on in it. But it turns out that the greatest challenge right now, for you, is learning to live with Loki. I have a friend who keeps his dog outside of the home. I think that is legitimate under certain circumstances. In any case, I wish you luck with this test. I’m sure there are many adventures up ahead.

    • Thank you, Shimon. I do feel an obligation to this dog–and we’re making it work. The part that makes it easy is he’s the sweetest, gentlest dog I think I’ve ever known. Not a mean bone in his body.

Leave a Reply

