Sentimental sunrises

Someone recently said to me as a person ages they either get harder or softer.

Flying saucer cloud, July, 2012

Flying saucer cloud, July, 2012

I believe I’ve softened, toward myself, toward the world. It’s easier that way. In zen it’s called the soft mind, the bending mind, a fluid way of moving through life. Accepting that we are all exactly where we need to be.

Fire season. August passed in a cloud of smoke, dense, dark, dry, but it added a surreal touch to the sun.

Fire season. August passed in a cloud of smoke, dense, dark, dry, but it added a surreal touch to the sun.

My photography has been documentary. I’m a photojournalist and love faces and action. I like to photograph people working or doing something they love. Making jewelry, digging a garden. Dancing. I like to move. Landscapes and sunsets seemed sentimental to me. Not interesting.

Desert sunrise on my way home this morning, March 12, 2013.

Desert sunrise on my way home this morning, March 12, 2013.

But something changed. I wake up early now and these high desert morning skies will not be ignored. The clouds, the sun rising over the bare mountains, stark against the horizon. The wild crimsons, and clouds hovering like dragons over the town.

Another March sunrise from last week.

Another March sunrise from last week.

For three years now, I’ve been photographing the skies here using my Canon Rebel SLR. Sunrises mostly, but I also like the contrast of clouds against a blue sky.  But something about the mornings here soften me.

Early morning, Cheney Creek, February, 2013

Early morning, Cheney Creek, February, 2013

2 thoughts on “Sentimental sunrises

  1. I like this.
    I feel I have softened also, to myself. I mean, still pretty hard on myself but at least not starving for 3 days to remain slim enough to be lovable (then gorging, & hating myself).

    This is good as it reminds me of age, and the relief that may come with wisdom.

Leave a Reply

