Breathing new life into cloud and mountain

When I started this blog about a year and a half ago I was about to leave the country for six months in India. Cloud and Mountain was a way to share my journey and photos from Meghalaya and Sikkim.

I returned to California to another journey of sorts. After years of making most of my income through teaching, I made the switch over to writing and photography for a weekly newspaper. Learning to write quickly and accurately on a variety of topics has been a great discipline and over the past year since I’ve been back, I’ve also picked up freelance work.

Cloud and Mountain became something I looked forward to, but I wasn’t really sure where it was going. Six months in India never dampened the awe I felt discovering this country that had long captured my imagination. It was easy to write. The problem was finding enough time to say it all.

Would I be able to sustain it after I returned to the small town where I live, to my house on a hill? And sometimes I do find it hard to keep going, to keep writing on this online venue week after week, especially, because, after I returned, I began to lose focus. Cloud and Mountain was no longer a travel blog, so what was it?

I have decided to refocus a bit. For the past year I’ve been working intermittently on a book, and so I’ll post sections of that from time to time. There will still be photos; in fact, I’ve been working even more on blending words and photography. There will probably be more of that. Guest bloggers will show up from time to time. In fact, if anyone reading this would like to do a guest post, please let me know.

I’ll also spend some time looking at the writing process, passing on tips from time to time, things I learn from others and some that have worked for me. I’ve been terrible at completing things. I have novels I wrote a draft of then stuffed away in a box. Non fiction I’ve written 70, 80 even 100 pages of, then abandoned it, on to something else. I switch between working on a novel, a memoir, a collection of essays. One of my aspirations is to make this blog a way to be more accountable. If I chronicle my journey, maybe this time I’ll finish it.

BuddhaRose

8 thoughts on “Breathing new life into cloud and mountain

  1. I look forward to seeing how your blog evolves, Jordan. I always enjoy your writing and keeping up on your latest adventure.

  2. Losing focus isn’t unusual for folks who are our, uh, “young side of old” age. But I look forward to each time you draw on your experience and capacity for wonder to re-focus in “Cloud and Mountain” (which is a great name for your blog, by the way). You’ve long had a part of my heart, Jordan; now you’ve got my reading attention too.

Leave a Reply

