Patterns and Peacocks

I love patterns in nature, and when I began photographing, I found myself noticing them even more: the way pine needles fall on the ground, the shape of clouds or the pattern of waves. When the latest weekly photo challenge came through my email with the topic of patterns, the first thing I thought of was peacocks.

patternIn January, I spent a weekend at the City of 10,0000 Buddhas near Ukiah, California. These people were serious meditators. I think there were some monks who never left the lotus position for days, maybe weeks on end.

pattern5Then came the moment when I thought my legs were going to fall off, so I headed outside to explore the grounds. The City of 10,000 Buddhas was once an insane asylum. Things have changed, but  it wasn’t hard to imagine its more painful past. Today, the City of 10,000 Buddhas offers education, a library and retreats. There are also dozens of peacocks wandering the grounds.

pattern2Male peacocks, with their flamboyant plumage, tend to get the most attention, but I found the plainer, females had their own beauty and glossy patterns as well.

pattern3

One thought on “Patterns and Peacocks

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Pattern: Roofs | Flickr Comments

Leave a Reply

